Random fact of the day: normal Rice Krispy treats aren't vegetarian. Marshmallows have gelatin hidden in them. (In fact, many random things do...from many yogurts to frosted Pop Tarts to frosted shredded wheat cereal.)
For a few years after becoming vegetarian, I thought Rice Krispy treats were completely out. Sadness.
But, I discovered that there's no need to despair! There's a solution to the marshmallow problem that doesn't affect the flavor of your tasty treats...marshmallow creme. You can replace marshmallows with marshmallow creme in any Rice Krispy recipe.
Here's a basic Rice Krispy treat recipe with peanut butter and chocolate goodness added. Vegetarians, rejoice!
Vegetarian Peanut Butter Chocolate Rice Krispies
Recipe adapted from www.ricekrispies.com
Makes a 13"x9" pan
- 3 tbsp butter
- 7 oz marshmallow creme (1 small jar)
- 1/2 c creamy peanut butter
- 2 tbsp cocoa powder
- 5 c Rice Krispies cereal